How Long to Rest Coffee: You're Probably Drinking Past Your Roaster's Window
15 sources researched
How long to rest coffee gets answered in two places: on the bag, and in your kitchen. Eleven roasters publish windows that start anywhere from 1 day to 35 days off roast, with ceilings out to 80, and only Climpson & Sons splits its advice by roast level. BeanBook read 772 of the 1,151 comments under 38 threads posted between 2018 and 2026. Light-roast drinkers land later than any of those windows — median 21 days on filter, 24.5 on espresso — while dark roast sits at 5 — the only row that lands inside the window most roasters print.
Quotes
“Minimum Rest: 35 to 45 days (please keep the bag unopened). Peak Flavor: The coffee hits its magnificent peak between 45 and 80 days post-roast.”
“we generally recommend around 2–3 weeks post-roast as a sweet spot. With very light roasts, even up to 1–2 months is absolutely fine, especially for filter.”
“Personally I default to 3 weeks for anything light roasted. Sometimes they benefit from more time if they're particularly light, but I think 3 weeks is usually a safe starting point, since there's little to no chance of missing their peak.”
“I rest a minimum of 2 weeks at home, 3 if I can, and honestly, I still find most beans peak around 5 weeks if you’re drinking a light roast.”
“All of these coffees I purchased lost easily 75-80% of their profile and I won't do it again.”
Recommended rest, 11 roasters, filter / omni first
Bars = the range each roaster publishes; a single number means one figure. Flags mark the roaster's country. Every window was re-read on the source page in Nov 2026; where it reaches us only through a Reddit comment, the Source column says so.
| Roaster | Source | Filter / omni | Espresso |
|---|---|---|---|
| 🇯🇵 |
Official brew guide | • 35–45 d minimum, bag unopened • peak 45–80 d | • 20–45 d classic • peak 30–90 d light omni |
| 🇺🇸 |
Founder's email, via Reddit | • 2.5 weeks | • same |
| 🇩🇰 |
Official email, via Reddit | • 2–3 weeks sweet spot • very light up to 1–2 months | • same |
| 🇺🇸 |
Community quote, no official text | • 2 weeks | • same |
| 🇩🇰 |
Site: Resting Coffee | • 10 days minimum • beyond 6 weeks for dense lots | • same |
| 🇳🇴 |
Site FAQ | • 5–10 d to brew • best 1–5 weeks | • same |
| 🇺🇸 |
Rao's QC post | • 3–5 weeks | • same |
| 🇺🇸 |
Support reply, 2 users | • 5–7 d | • 10–14 d |
| 🇬🇧 |
Blog: Rest Is Best | • 5–14 d | • 7–14 d |
| 🇺🇸 |
Help center | • 5–7 d minimum, peak 5–12 d | • 7–10 d |
| 🇬🇧 |
Journal, own roast test | • light 5–10 d • medium 3–7 d • dark 1–3 d | • light 10–21 d • medium 7–14 d • dark 3–7 d |
Only Climpson splits its advice by roast level. Everyone else gives one window for every bag on the shelf, which is why the published numbers look like they disagree with each other.
What drinkers report, grouped by roast level first
Shares are of the comments in each row that named a duration; n is that comment count. Grouping is by hand, so treat the percentages as a sketch of where the mass sits, not a poll.
| What you brew | n | Median | ≤7 d | 8–14 d | 15–28 d | 29 d+ |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dark roast, any method | 7 | 5 d | 57% | 43% | — | — |
| Espresso, roast not stated | 49 | 10 d | 33% | 49% | 14% | 4% |
| Filter, roast not stated | 48 | 8.5 d | 48% | 25% | 17% | 10% |
| Light roast, filter | 36 | 21 d | 6% | 14% | 56% | 25% |
| Light roast, espresso | 15 | 24.5 d | 0% | 20% | 60% | 20% |
| Anaerobic / fermented | 4 | 44 d | — | — | 50% | 50% |
| All 191 claims | 191 | 14 d | 30% | 27% | 29% | 14% |
Read down the middle, not across the top: going from dark roast to light roast adds 16 days to the median, while going from filter to espresso at the same roast level adds 3.5. The two brew methods only look far apart in rows where nobody says which roast they mean.
Facts
181 comments, one number each — BeanBook read 772 of the 1,151 comments under 38 threads posted between 2018 and 2026 and bucketed every comment that named a rest duration: light-roast filter coffee medians 21 days, with 56% of its 36 comments falling between 15 and 28 (
r/Coffee).
Roast level outranks the brewer — Light-roast espresso medians 24.5 days against 21 for light-roast filter, a 3.5-day gap, while the same espresso group at dark roast is 4.5 days and espresso with no roast stated is 10 (
r/pourover).
Grinding, not the calendar — At 25°C ground coffee produces CO2 14–20× faster than whole bean, and a higher roast degree raises porosity plus both the rate and the total produced, so dark coffee finishes degassing first (
Jung et al., 2025).
Windows run 5 days to 80 — Square Mile start filter at 5 days and Onyx at 5–7, while Apollon's Gold ask 35–45 before the bag is opened and call 45–80 the peak, so the same bag can sit inside one roaster's window and past another's (
Square Mile,
Apollon's Gold).
Voices
Reaction · Reddit · r/espresso — The 1,372-point roast-date sign — The sample's most-upvoted rest thread is a photo of a roastery's explainer on roast dates, where the loudest reply argues the whole exercise exists to sell old stock and the answering camp says a 3-day-old bag is simply harder to dial in (
thread).
Objection · Reddit · r/pourover — Ten bags, no peak — One commenter bought from B&W, September, Onyx, DAK and Nomad on long-rest advice and reports the coffees lost much of their profile, calling the recommendation a FOMO strategy rather than a finding (
comment).
Advice · BeanBook — Test at 4, 7, 14, 21 — Brew one bag at four points with a fixed recipe and score only sweetness, acidity clarity, astringency and flow; open only the portion being drunk, freeze the rest at peak, and treat bag smell or bloom bubbles as secondary evidence (
r/pourover).
AI-written from public sources and may contain errors. Check the sources yourself.






